Read Between the Lines

Hi there!

Reading. *Pause for groans and choruses of “I love reading, I just never have the time!”*

Got that out of the way? Good. When did reading become such a chore? It was the highlight of any day during childhood. It was a chance to escape the madness and stresses of day-care or primary school (reading got me through the days when Taylor suddenly decided she wasn’t sitting with me that week, dark days, I tell you).

I must say, I too have fallen into the trap of making excuses and pushing reading back to “when I have time”, which will only really happen when I am dead. This phenomenon makes me sad because there are so many fantastic books out there and we haven’t even scratched the surface!

The books I have been reading recently aren’t exactly mind-stretchers but they give my life a bit of joy (Alexa Chung where were you in that lonely first grade week?). Here are my picks:

books (2)

  • How to Be Parisian Wherever You Are by Anne Berest, Audrey Diwan, Caroline De Maigret, and Sophie Mas – The French are a fantastic group that don’t take themselves too seriously. These women impart their excellent life advice that will make you want to scream “GIRL POWER” from the rooftops.
  • It by Alexa Chung – This fashion powerhouse is a style icon for people all around the world, and now she is an all around life icon. Marry me, Alexa?
  • Coco Chanel by Megan Hess – The myth, the legend, and that’s just Megan Hess! An exquisite woman is brought to life with a story and illustrations that will make you drool!
  •  Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll – A timeless classic and an absolute favourite of mine. For years I have loved the magic of the rabbit hole and the gorgeous characters found down there.
  • Women in This Town by Giuseppe Santamaria – This collection of street style photography showcases the star players in the heavy weight towns (think New York, Paris, Melbourne, Tokyo, Madrid and London). It gives me serious fashion and travel envy.

Whether its these books or your own picks (let me know your favourites so I can expand my horizons), stop making excuses and pick up some paper! Authors everywhere salute you.

All my love, Chelle

Leave a Reply

